WSBK: Laverty wins to take joint lead in championship

By Burning Rubber on Feb 24, 13 05:27 AM

Laverty blog.jpgEUGENE Laverty got his own back in Race Two at Phillip Island when he stole the win from team-mate Sylvain Guintoli.

After finishing second behind Guintoli in the opening FIM World Superbike Championship race, Laverty turned the tables as he led his team-mate over the line.

Third man home was GoldBet BMW's Marco Melandri, with the Red Devils Roma Aprilia of Michel Fabrizio fourth.

After today's earlier race, the Australian track's second of the day proved to be much less eventful.

With Checa missing from the grid after his crash in Race One, Laverty inherited pole ahead of Fabrizio and Kawasaki's Tom Sykes.

At the green light it was Sykes who made the best start, taking the lead ahead of Melandri and Laverty. Behind, Guintoli was storming through and was up to P2 by the end of the lap.

As the pack crossed the line to start Lap Two, Laverty took the lead as Guintoli settled in to second behind him, and Melandri soon settled into third.

From here the top three remained the same all the way to the flag, with just a couple of switches between them.

Guintoli seared past Laverty on the fourth lap but was unable to pull out a gap as the other two stuck with him.

The three stayed as they were until Lap 16 when Melandri finally made a move on Laverty to take second.

But Laverty was far from finished, and on Lap 20 he took the spot back and quickly closed up on Guintoli, passing him a lap later and leading into the final lap.

Guintoli looked close as the pair rounded the track for the last time, but never got near enough and Laverty was able to take the win without a final challenge.

As a result of today's races, Laverty and Guintoli are tied at the top of the championship on 45 points each.

FIM World Superbike Championship Phillip Island Race Two result:

1. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 33'45.938
2. Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 33'46.356
3. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK) BMW S1000 RR 33'47.320
4. Michel Fabrizio (Red Devils Roma) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 33'48.220
5. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 33'57.483
6. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 33'58.446
7. Jules Cluzel (Fixi Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 34'03.268
8. Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike) Honda CBR1000RR 34'03.277
9. Leon Camier (Fixi Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 34'05.824
10. Leon Haslam (Pata Honda World Superbike) Honda CBR1000RR 34'05.934
11. Max Neukirchner (MR-Racing) Ducati Panigale 1199 34'13.567
12. Glen Allerton (Next Gen Motorsports) BMW S1000 RR 34'28.747
13. Jamie Stauffer (Team Honda Racing) Honda CBR1000RR 34'28.831
14. Federico Sandi (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 34'30.837
15. Alexander Lundh (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 34'43.762
16. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Grillini Dentalmatic SBK) BMW S1000 RR 35'08.512
17. Chaz Davies (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK) BMW S1000 RR 34'08.663
RT. Ivan Clementi (HTM Racing) BMW S1000 RR 17'14.862
RT. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 

Keep up to date

We read...

Sponsored Links