Kiyo takes Race One win at Mallory

By Burning Rubber on Jun 27, 10 02:20 PM

By Zoe Burn and Mic Archbold

kiyo_small_-_BLOG.jpgRYUICHI Kiyonari picked up where he left off yesterday as he took the win in today's opening MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship race at Mallory Mark.

The Japanese hotshot led a HM Plant Honda one-two over the line, as team-mate Josh Brookes came home second.

Third place went to Relentless Suzuki by TAS rider Michael Laverty, who despite his best efforts was unable to hold off his two Honda rivals.

Kiyo had started the race from pole, but lost out to both Laverty and the Ducati of Michael Rutter at the green light, settling into third by the end of the opening lap.

But the race was red-flagged on Lap Three after a big crash involving Motorpoint Yamaha's Dan Linfoot and Rutter's team-mate Martin Jessopp at the notorious Charlies part section of the Leicestershire track.

A restart some 15 minutes later saw the field line up in the order they had crossed the line at the end of Lap Two, giving Laverty the coveted pole spot.

One man who didn't make it out again was Karl Harris, who retired his East Coast Racing Yamaha to the pits at the end of the warm up laps.

At the light, it was Laverty who was quickest out of the box, leading Brookes and Kiyo for several laps. josh_and_kio_-_BLOG.jpg

But he was unable to keep the flying Honda's at bay, and Brookes eventually passed him for the lead on Lap Eight, Kiyo doing the same just three laps later.

By now Kiyo had the bit between his teeth and quickly made the move on his team-mate to take the lead just half a lap later, and quickly eked out a comfortable lead.

From there little changed, the top three remaining the same all the way to the chequered flag. Kiyonari_Thruxton2_-_BLOG.jpg

Behind, the only change was Swan Honda's Stuart Easton making a move on Chris Walker's CW Suzuki on Lap 19 to move up to fifth.

Championship leader Tommy Hill was unable to extend his points tally after retiring his Worx Crescent Suzuki to the garage on Lap 10, while this team-mate, Yukio Kagayama, had already crashed out in the second lap.

In the BSB-Evo Championship, Jentin Racing's Steve Brogan was back to form on his powerful BMW machine, taking the win from Evo title leader Hudson Kennaugh.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship Top 10 results:

1. Ryuichi Kiyonari, HM Plant Honda, 23.42:274mins
2. Josh Brookes, HM Plant Honda, +1.820
3. Michael Laverty, Relentless Suzuki by TAS, +3.573
4. Michael Rutter,, + 3.753
5. Stuart Easton, Swan Honda, + 13.883
6. Chris Walker, CW Racing, + 14.155
7. Simon Andrews, MSS Colchester Kawasaki, +16.175
8. John Laverty, Buildbase Kawasaki, + 16.343
9. Andrew Pitt, Motorpoint Yamaha, + 19.469
10. Alastair Seeley, Relentless Suzuki by TAS, + 19.913

*Images by DJ Photo

Keep up to date

We read...

Sponsored Links