Laverty wins and declares: "This is Jonesy's victory"

By Burning Rubber on Mar 14, 09 11:25 AM

By Zoe Burn

eugene-losail-action-small.jpg EUGENE Laverty has taken his maiden World Supersport win at a dramatic race at Losail.

The Durham-based Irishman pipped reigning champ Andrew Pitt over the line by 0.063secs in a battle of sheer straight-line speed.

And the shy rider immediately dedicated his win to pal Craig Jones.

"This isn't my victory, it belongs to Jonesy after all the work he did for the team last year to bring the bike up to speed."

Laverty, who started from second behind fellow Brit Cal Crutchlow, made a fast start and passed Crutchlow into P1 in the second corner.

It was a lead he was to hold for several laps while Crutchlow found himself in a battle royale with Hanspree Ten Kate team-mates Andrew Pitt and Kenan Sofuoglu.

It was Pitt who made the first move for the lead on Lap Eight, and attempted to pull out a lead while Eugene got caught up in the Crutchlow/Sofuoglu shuffling.

Sofuoglu made his way to the front in Lap 11 while Laverty found himself in fourth, but as the gap between the leading four dropped and Pitt and Sofuoglu swapped the lead between them, he caught up and made a dash for the top spot over the line into Lap 14.

And there he stayed. Although Pitt did make one or two moves past him, Laverty was always fastest on the straight, taking the lead back into the final lap, and although getting knocked down to P2, he was always going to pass on the straight to be first over the line...which he did.

"It was a good race, I really enjoyed it a lot," he said. " I just have to thank the Parkalgar Honda team - it was fantastic.

"The bike was very fast and although Andrew's bike did have places where it was better, in the end the power we had was enough for us to beat him over the line each time."

Full Race Results:

1 50 Laverty E. (IRL) Honda CBR600RR 37'06.285 (156,595 kph)
2 1 Pitt A. (AUS) Honda CBR600RR 0.063
3 35 Crutchlow C. (GBR) Yamaha YZF R6 0.625
4 54 Sofuoglu K. (TUR) Honda CBR600RR 0.711
5 127 Harms R. (DEN) Honda CBR600RR 5.200
6 14 Lagrive M. (FRA) Honda CBR600RR 5.233
7 24 McCoy G. (AUS) Triumph Daytona 675 9.538
8 55 Roccoli M. (ITA) Honda CBR600RR 9.551
9 13 West A. (AUS) Honda CBR600RR 9.616
10 77 Veneman B. (NED) Suzuki GSX-R600 12.159
11 51 Pirro M. (ITA) Yamaha YZF R6 15.044
12 117 Praia M. (POR) Honda CBR600RR 17.611
13 26 Lascorz J. (ESP) Kawasaki ZX-6R 17.701
14 105 Vizziello G. (ITA) Honda CBR600RR 19.897
15 8 Aitchison M. (AUS) Honda CBR600RR 35.382
16 9 Dell'Omo D. (ITA) Honda CBR600RR 35.701
17 28 Vos A. (NED) Honda CBR600RR 36.239
18 83 Holland R. (AUS) Honda CBR600RR 36.406
19 69 Nannelli G. (ITA) Triumph Daytona 675 40.548
20 5 Pradita T. (INA) Yamaha YZF R6 58.948
21 88 Guerra Y. (ESP) Yamaha YZF R6 1'01.386
22 32 Lai F. (ITA) Honda CBR600RR 1'18.036
23 78 Geronimi S. (AUS) Suzuki GSX-R600 1'22.281
RET 21 Fujiwara K. (JPN) Kawasaki ZX-6R
RET 30 GÃŒnther J. (GER) Honda CBR600RR
RET 99 Foret F. (FRA) Yamaha YZF R6
RET 19 Szkopek P. (POL) Triumph Daytona 675
RET 7 Vostárek P. (CZE) Honda CBR600RR
RET 96 Smrz M. (CZE) Triumph Daytona 675
RET 71 Morillas J. (ESP) Yamaha YZF R6

Keep up to date

We read...

Sponsored Links